Exchange programme promotes Vietnam-Laos friendship

The Vietnam-Laos friendship exchange programme 2019 took place in Lao Bao town, Huong Hoa district, the central province of Quang Tri on July 30.

Participants attend a landmark salute ceremony and witnesse a joint patrol at National Border Landmark 605 on the Vietnam-Laos borderline.

The event saw the participation of representatives from the Border Guards HighCommand, Defence Ministry, Military Zone 4 High Command and Quang Tri provinceof Vietnam. The Lao side included representatives from the General Staff of theLao People’s Army and the Ministry of Public Security, the military attachéfrom the Lao Embassy in Vietnam, and leaders of Savannakhet and Salavan provinces.

At the event, the participants attended a landmark salute ceremony andwitnessed a joint patrol at National Border Landmark 605 on the Vietnam-Laosborderline.

A joint patrol team of the two sides including border guard forces of the LaoBao International Border Gate and the Military High Command of the Lao provinceof Savannakhet, jointly patrolled, inspected the situation of national bordermarkers, as well as exchanged measures to manage and protect the shared borderline.

Also within the framework of the exchange programme, representatives of bothsides planted trees at the Vietnam-Laos border marker, and attended apreliminary conference on 15th anniversary of the twining relations between LaoBao town’s Ka Tang village and Sepon district’s Densavan village.

In the past 15 years, with the support of the two Parties and States, bothvillages have developed trade activities, and helped each other to develop economy,alleviate poverty, and build effective economic models.

Villagers have proactively participated in campaigns to ensure local security,making contributions to maintaining social order in the border areas.

Vietnam and Laos share a border lineof 2,067 km which runs across 10 Vietnamese provinces: Dien Bien, Son La, ThanhHoa, Nghe An, Ha Tinh, Quang Binh, Quang Tri, Thua Thien-Hue, Quang Nam and KonTum. The line also passes 10 Lao provinces: Phongsaly, Luang Prabang, Houaphan,Bolykhamsay, Khammoune, Savannakhet, Salavan, Xiengkhouang, Sepon andAttapeu.-VNA

Leave your comment on an article