Mr. Chinh, who is currently head of the Communist Party of Vietnam’s Organisation Commission, received support of 462 out of 466 lawmakers present at the ongoing session of the National Assembly.

“Under the sacred golden star red flag of the Fatherland, in front of the National Assembly and fellow voters nationwide, I, the Prime Minister of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam, will be loyal to the Fatherland, people, and the Constitution, and will work hard to fulfil tasks assigned by the Party, State, and people,” the new PM stated during his oath.

He pledged absolute loyalty to the Fatherland, the people, and the Constitution of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam, and affirmed that he will do his utmost to fulfil all tasks assigned by the Party, State, and people.

Chinh said priority will be given to upholding the respect for the law; strengthening discipline in the State administrative apparatus and society as a whole; effectively mobilising and using all resources for national development; developing strategic infrastructure; and stepping up national digital transformation and developing the digital economy.

Attention will be paid to developing a comprehensive social welfare system, with a focus on remote, border, and island regions and ethnic minority-inhabited areas, and caring for the material and spiritual lives of all people, the PM added.

Mr. Chinh was born in 1958 hailing from Thanh Hoa province. He had held key posts such as Secretary of the Quang Ninh provincial Party Committee and Deputy Minister of Public Security before being elected Prime Minister of Vietnam.

The 14th National Assembly is holding its last session in Hanoi to complete personnel work in the State apparatus before voters will go to the polls next month to elect a new legislature for the 2021-2026 tenure.




Nguyen Xuan Phuc elected as State President

Nguyen Xuan Phuc elected as State President

The National Assembly (NA) elected Nguyen Xuan Phuc, Politburo member of the 13th tenure and a deputy of the 14th legislature, as State President for the 2016-2021 term on April 5 morning, during the 14th legislature’s 11th sitting.