return icon

RCEP members determined to sign deal in November

Ministers from countries participating in negotiations over the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) gathered at the 10th intersessional meeting held in the form of a video conference on June 23

under the chair of Vietnam’s Minister of Industry and Trade Tran Tuan Anh.

In his opening remarks, Minister Anh spoke highly of negotiators’ efforts since the beginning of the year, noting that in-depth meetings and discussions have been held online and on schedule throughout the COVID-19 pandemic.

He affirmed that as ASEAN Chair in 2020, Vietnam has been working closely with other member countries to maintain the bloc’s leadership and close cooperation with the six partners, to accelerate finalising the RCEP talks and the legal review of the deal’s wording so that it may be signed in Hanoi in November.

With the aim of achieving a high-quality agreement that balances all interests, Vietnam has actively engaged in discussions and proactively proposed flexible solutions in many areas so as to address differences among parties while still ensuring their own national interest, he added.

Participating ministers pointed out the unprecedented challenges facing global trade, investment, and supply chains due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Therefore, they said, it is necessary to enhance cooperation to promote strong and flexible economic recovery, along with sustainable, balanced, and comprehensive growth in the post-pandemic period.

Facing the pandemic and emerging trade protectionism, the officials reiterated their determination to sign the RCEP at the fourth RCEP Summit in November.

They shared the view that the deal being signed in 2020 would show that participating countries support a multilateral trading system and stronger economic integration among regional countries, thereby helping to resume economic activities and set up a “new normal” across the region.

Looking at India’s engagement in the RCEP, the officials held that the country has been an important party in negotiations, which began in 2012.

Its participation would contribute to progress and prosperity in the entire region, they said, stressing that the RCEP remains open for India to return.

Initiated by ASEAN in 2012, the RCEP is a free trade agreement among the ten member countries of the bloc and six partners - China, India, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Australia, and New Zealand. Once signed, it would create one of the largest free trade areas in the world./.VNA


Credit package for social housing not as productive as hoped

Few have benefited from the VND15 trillion credit package for social housing as there is a limited supply of low-cost homes.


More effective tax collection of e-commerce necessary


Cultural industry to contribute 10% of Hanoi’s GRDP by 2045

Authority warns of scam South Korea labour export programmes

The Department of Overseas Labour under the Ministry of Labour, Invalids and Social Affairs have warned about scams targeting people who want to work in technical occupations in South Korea.

Textile firms call for favourable policies amid pessimistic prospects

With a pessimistic outlook for the second half of 2022, textile firms are calling for favourable governmental policies to turn their situation around.

Enterprises ignoring waste management to face penalty

Enterprises that are required to manage their waste and have yet to fulfill their payment obligations will be inspected, with a possible fine of up to VND2 billion for violations.

Favorable conditions pledged for Qatar’s funds, enterprises

Competent Vietnamese agencies are willing to create favorable conditions for Qatar’s investment funds and enterprises to seek investment opportunities in the country.

Woman posing for Tiktok video at Phu Quoc airport banned from flying for six months

The head of the Civil Aviation Authority of Vietnam Dinh Viet Thang has decided to issue a flight ban on a woman posing for a TikTok video at the Phu Quoc Airport tarmac for six months.

“1,000 public employees quitting jobs each month is inaccurate data”: HCM City

The Ho Chi Minh City Department of Home Affairs says the information that 6,177 public employees quit their jobs in the first half of 2022 is incorrect. These are actually statistics from January 1, 2020 to June 30, 2022.

Gov't sets up six working groups to inspect disbursement of public investment capital

Prime Minister Pham Minh Chinh has tasked six working groups to inspect disbursement of public investment capital in 41 ministries, state agencies and 18 localities where disbursement is below the national average rate of 34.47 percent as of July 31.

Vietnam to mobilise $360 billion for sustainable development targets

Vietnam needs to mobilise $360 billion for implementing its green and sustainable development targets by 2030.

Vietnam to make Apple Watch, MacBook for first time

Apple is in talks to make Apple Watches and MacBooks in Vietnam for the first time as the US tech giant looks to diversify production away from China, Nikkei Asia reported.

Japanese firm buys 35.1% stake at Vietnam’s power company

JERA Inc., a power generation company of Japan, has signed a deal to buy a 35.1% stake at Vietnam’s Gia Lai Electricity JSC (GEC) to tap the Southeast Asian nation's growing demand for electricity and further its own decarbonisation efforts.

Goalkeeper Dang Van Lam officially signs contract with Binh Dinh

Goalkeeper Dang Van Lam has signed a three-year contract with Binh Dinh FC and is expected to play his first match for his new team in the V.League 1 this weekend.

Vietnam faces shortage of Protamine sulfate

The Drug Administration of Vietnam (DAV) has sent a letter to provincial and municipal departments of health, hospitals and drug importers, asking them to supply information on stocks of Protamine sulfate.