VietNamNet Bridge – Mr. Nguyen Dinh Xung, Vice Party Chief and Vice Chair of Thanh Hoa Province, on December 30, was elected the province’s Chair for the term from now to the end of 2016.


Thanh Hoa's Chairman Nguyen Dinh Xung.

Mr. Trinh Van Chien, Thanh Hoa Province’s Party Secretary, was also elected Chairman of the provincial People's Council, replacing Mr. Mai Van Ninh, who has been assigned as the vice chief of the Central Information and PR Committee.

Thanh Hoa’s new Chair Nguyen Dinh Xung, 52, graduated from the National Economics University, majoring in agricultural economics. He formerly held various positions in Thanh Hoa, including deputy chief of the provincial People's Committee Office, Director of the Fisheries Department, Director of the Department of Agriculture and Rural Development, and Vice Chair of Thanh Hoa.

In the southern province of Binh Duong, Chairman Le Thanh Cung will retire from January 2015. He is replaced by Mr. Tran Van Nam.

Before being elected as Binh Duong’s Chair on December 30, Nam was the Vice Chair. Nam was also elected as Vice Party Secretary the same day.

Nam was born in 1963 in Tan Uyen District, Binh Duong Province. He holds a bachelor of law and bachelor of politics and was a National Assembly deputy for two terms. Previously he was secretary of Binh Duong Youth Union and Party Secretary of Tan Uyen Town.

Prime Minister appoints senior personnel

In related news, Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung has re-appointed Mr. Nguyen Dinh Toan as Deputy Minister of Construction and Mr. Nguyen Hoai Duong and Ngo Ha Thai as Deputy General Directors of the Vietnam News Agency.

Mr. Le Quan, Head of the Organization and Personnel Department of the Hanoi National University, was appointed Deputy Director of the university.

The Prime Minister also approved the supplementary election of Mr. Nguyen Van Chuong as Vice Chairman of Hoa Binh Province and Mr. Nguyen Minh Quang as Vice Chair of Hung Yen Province.

Tran Cham