return icon

Spiritual milestones affirm Vietnam’s sovereignty in the sea

Nine pagodas formed from shrines or small Buddha statues erected a long time ago in the Truong Sa archipelago by Vietnamese fishermen are not only places of religious and belief activities but also the country’s sovereignty milestones on the sea.

On the Truong Sa archipelago, Vietnamese fishermen built temples, shrines or small Buddha statues to pray to God and Buddha to bless their peaceful trips to the sea. 

On that basis, nine pagodas have been restored on the islands of Song Tu Tay, Nam Yet, Son Ca, Phan Vinh, Sinh Ton, Sinh Ton Dong, Da Tay A, Truong Sa Dong and Truong Sa. 

The pagodas built on islands in the Truong Sa archipelago are like those on the mainland, with wooden architecture, and bricks and tiles. Each pagoda has an abbot.

The common feature is that the main hall faces the East Sea, overlooking the capital of Hanoi. In addition to the function of worshiping Buddha, there are altars in the pagodas to worship heroes and martyrs who died to protect the sovereignty of the sacred sea and islands of the country.

The Great Truong Sa Pagoda is located in the center of Truong Sa town, on the Great Truong Sa Island of Truong Sa District, Khanh Hoa Province.
Inside the pagoda.
Vinh Phuc Pagoda is located close to the coast on Phan Vinh Island of Truong Sa District, Khanh Hoa Province.
Song Tu Tay Pagoda on Song Tu Tay Island.
Sinh Ton Pagoda on Sinh Ton Island.
Inside the Sinh Ton Pagoda on Sinh Ton Island.
Nam Huyen Pagoda on Nam Yet Island.
Son Linh Pagoda is located on Da Tay A Island.
The inauguration ceremony of the Sinh Ton Dong pagoda.
The Sinh Ton Dong pagoda.
The Truong Sa Dong pagoda on Truong Sa Dong Island.
The Da Tay A on Da Tay Island.
The 9 pagodas are the country’s sovereignty milestones on the sea.

Nguyen Phu Duc


Vietnamese banks that 'disappear' from the market

Some banks used to be very popular, with hundreds of thousands of customers, but they gradually disappeared from the market because of many reasons.

Discovering Hanoi’s famous incense making village

The craft village with a tradition of more than 100 years impresses visitors for its space that is filled with vibrant colors such as blue, red, yellow, etc. of beautifully shaped bouquets of incense.

Vietnam to reassert its position on the world coffee map

Vietnam is the world's second largest coffee exporter, but its impact on the world coffee market is not commensurate with its position, experts say.


Coffee exports to Netherlands enjoy three-digit growth

Youngest female Vietnamese Associate Professor receives Kovalevskaia Awards 2022

Prof. Dr. Le Minh Thang on March 7, 2023 was presented the 2022 Kovalevskaia Awards 2022 by Prime Minister Pham Minh Chinh.

Third pedestrian street opens in Hue City

The Hai Ba Trung Pedestrian Street was opened on Sunday evening in Hue City, becoming the third walking street in the central province of Thua Thien-Hue.

Entertainment and cultural events of the week (March 27-April 2)

Entertainment and cultural events in Vietnam's major cities on March 27-April 2.


Vietnam wins 17 prizes at International Robothon 2023

K'Duong breaks three youth weightlifting world records

Vietnamese weightlifter K'Duong broke three youth 55kg world records during the 2023 International Weightlifting Federation (IWF) World Youth Championships on March 26 which is taking place in Albania.

Struggling hoteliers seek Government support to revive from COVID-19 crisis

Small- and medium-sized hotels in HCM City are struggling with low occupancy rates and labour shortages, and are in need of support to recover from a COVID-19-induced slump, according to the municipal Department of Tourism.

Lion Championship MMA returns, first fight in Hanoi on April 1

The second season of the Lion Championship mixed martial arts will be back with great fighters and frightening fights in April.

Driftwood space launches in Hoi An

The first ever wood recycle space – driftwood village’s studio – has been launched in the ancient’s Cam Ha Commune on the most favourite bicycle riding road connecting the Old Quarter and An Bang beach.

Hoi An to host International Choir Competition

The event has received registrations from 20 teams representing nine countries and territories, and will feature 13 events with eight grades held at the city’s theatre.

Big race for investment in e-commerce logistics

An increase in online sales has put pressure on the logistics system, thereby triggering the race to invest in Vietnam's e-commerce logistics, according to insiders.

Banks underwriting bonds should buy back bonds: VN central bank

Commercial banks that underwrite and sell corporate bonds have to buy them back if investors so demand, the central bank has said.