South Korea waives visa application fee for Vietnamese visitors

The Republic of Korea will temporarily waive the visa application fee for Southeast Asian countries, including Vietnam from Oct. 1 to Dec. 31.

The Ministry of Justice in the Republic of Korea (RoK) has decided to temporarily waive fees for short-term visas for citizens of all ASEAN member states, including Vietnam, in a bid to boost visitor numbers from the regional community and entice people to make business trips.

Accordingly, the appraisal-fee waiver has been applied to people travelling on short-term visas from 10 ASEAN countries, including Vietnam, for three months, from October 1, 2019, to December 31, 2019.

The 10 ASEAN members include Vietnam, the Philippines, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, Cambodia, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, and Brunei.


The exemption will only be valid for travelers with a duration of stay of less than 90 days on a C-3 short-term visa, which is suitable for people travelling to the RoK for activities such as visiting relatives, business trips, medical treatment, sporting events, and research programmes.

It is worth noting that the application fee of VND390,000 remains unchanged as the RoK only offers an appraisal-fee waiver.

T. Van

Video: VNA

Leave your comment on an article